Food Handler Cards
Who is required to have one?
As of July 1, 1996, all restaurant employees and other commercial food establishment employees are required to obtain Food Handler Certification cards.
What does the test entail?
Cards are issued after completion of a food handler test, which covers key critical control point procedures for preparing, handling, holding, and storage of foods. The class consists of a 30 minute video and a 20 question multiple choice test that requires a passing score of 75%. Successful completion of the test earns a Food Handler Certification card that is accepted anywhere in the State of Oregon and is valid for 3 years.
How much does it cost?
The fee for taking this test is $10. We will also need to see some form of ID, such as an Oregon Drivers License or Oregon ID Card.
How can I get a Food Handler Card?
The live class can be taken at the Tillamook County Community Health Centers. The Food Handler Class is available at almost any time during normal business hours. Please call to schedule an appointment: 503-842-3943.
If you would like to have a class for a group of 12 or more, contact Annette at 503-842-3902.
You can also take the class online through Oregon Food Handlers, http://www.orfoodhandlers.com. Para Español, haga clic en el “¿Habla Español?” vínculo en la parte superior de la página.
Can I prepare ahead of time?
Sure! You can prepare for the test by reading the Food Handlers Manual:
English Food Safety Manual
La Seguridad en los Alimentos que Ingerimos Manual de Auto-Capacitación (Spanish Food Safety Manual)
A An Toàn Thực Phẩm – Sổ Tay Hướng Dẫn Tự Học Của Bạn (Vietnamese Food Safety Manual)
食物安全在 自学手册 (Chinese Food Safety Manual)
Безопасность приготовления пищи (Russian Food Safety Manual)
음식 안전 – 자기훈련안내서 (Korean Food Safety Manual)
Food Manager Class – SERVSAFE
Is manager certification a law?
Oregon Law requires that each restaurant, while in operation, have a person in charge (PIC) that is knowledgeable about food borne disease prevention, HACCP and the Food Code Requirements (OAR 333-150-2-102.11). A person taking and passing the ServSafe manager certification course automatically meets this PIC requirement.
Why get certified?
Aside from meeting the code requirement for PIC, the real focus of this Manager Certification is Food Safety. Successful participants should expect to obtain the knowledge necessary to avoid Critical Code Violations – the leading factors that cause Foodborne Illness.
It is expected that when food service operators have higher levels of training, they also have better compliance with food safety rules. This might translate into better inspection scores, but the real benefit is a safer food product. ServSafe certificates are good for five years.